2012 Flaherty Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

James E. Youker, MD, FACR has been Chairman of the Medical College of Wisconsin Department of Radiology since 1968. Under his leadership, the Department of Radiology has become nationally recognized and Dr. Youker has achieved pre-eminent national recognition as a leader in radiological sciences. The James E. Youker Endowed Chair in Radiology is being established by the Medical College of Wisconsin to honor James E. Youker, MD, FACR.

The Department of Radiology at the Medical College of Wisconsin has long been a national leader in teaching and patient care. Over the years, the Department of Radiology has produced a growing roster of graduates, including over 350 radiology residents, fellows and instructors. Under Dr. Youker’s leadership, these radiologists have become very successful clinicians, educators, researchers and administrators with the same core values.

Dr. Youker received the Medical College of Wisconsin’s highest faculty honor, the Distinguished Service Award, in 1989. In 2008, he received the Medical Society of Milwaukee County’s highest honor, it’s Distinguished Service Award. He is the recipient of four gold medals for “having rendered exceptional services to the science of radiology”, from the American College of Radiology, the American Roentgen Ray Society, the Radiological Society of North America, and the Association of University Radiologists. He is also past president of The American Board of Medical Specialties. In 2008, he was named an honorary alumnus of the Medical College of Wisconsin/Marquette Medical Alumni Association.