2018 Flaherty Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

The Wisconsin Radiological Society presented the 2018 Flaherty Lifetime Achievement Award to Dr. Paul A. Larson, MD, FACR during the 69th Annual Meeting on Saturday, April 21st, 2018 at The American Club Resort in Kohler, Wisconsin. Dr. Larson is the fifth recipient of this award, joining Dr. Timothy T. Flaherty, MD, FACR, Dr. James E. Youker, MD, FACR, Dr. Andrew B. Crummy, MD, FACR and Dr. J. Frank Wilson, M.D., FACR, FASTRO.

Dr. Larson is a graduate of Northwestern University and the University of Connecticut School of Medicine.  He did an internship in Internal Medicine at St. Francis Hospital and Medical Center in Hartford, CT and completed residency in Diagnostic Radiology at St. Vincent Hospital in Worcester, MA.  He came to Wisconsin for Fellowship in Angiography and Interventional Radiology at the Medical College of Wisconsin before joining Radiology Associates of the Fox Valley where he practiced for over 30 years.

Dr. Larson served over 20 years on the Board of the WRS including as President in 2005-6 and as Chair of the Fellowship Committee from 2007-17, during which time the WRS had one of the highest per capita number of new ACR Fellows.  He was ACR Councilor from 2001-6 during which time he served on the ACR Council Steering Committee.  He then joined the ACR Board of Chancellors as Chair of the Commission on Quality and Safety from 2006-12 and as Vice-President and observer to the Canadian Association of Radiologists in 2012-13, including 4 years on the ACR Executive Committee and 3 years on the Budget and Finance Committee. 

Dr. Larson first became involved in technologist education as a resident and has been Medical Advisor to the Program in Radiologic Technology initially at Mercy Medical Center in Oshkosh and now at Marian University in Fond du Lac for nearly 30 years.  He served on two American Registry of Radiologic Technology (ARRT) exam committees starting in 1992 and in 2014 was elected to the ARRT Board of Trustees.  He will serve as President of the ARRT in 2018-9 and will remain on the Board through 2022.  He also served on the Board of Directors of the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology from 1995-2001, including 5 years as Secretary-Treasurer.  He was Chair of the RSNA Associated Sciences Committee from 2000-3.

Dr. Larson’s other activities include membership on the Board of Directors of the Wisconsin Medical Society since 2015, 3 years on the American Board of Radiology Non-interpretive Skills Committee, and multiple hospital committee positions and chairmanships.  He served 12 years on the Board of the Oshkosh Youth Soccer Club and 6 years on the Board of the Oshkosh Area United Way (OAUW), including as President.  He and his wife, Peg, are the Campaign Co-Chairs for the 2018 OAUW campaign.